The Books of Pellinor
 MapsCharactersKeysAlison CroggonPellinor

The Naming: The First Book of Pellinor

In the classic spirit of epic fantasy comes this glittering saga of a young girl who learns she possesses an uncanny gift—and is destined to use it to save her world from a terrifying evil.

Maerad is a slave in a desperate and unforgiving settlement, taken there as a child when her family is destroyed in war. She doesn’t yet know she has inherited a powerful gift, one that marks her as a member of the noble School of Pellinor and enables her to see the world as no other can. It is only when she is discovered by Cadvan, one of the great Bards of Lirigon, that her true identity and extraordinary destiny unfold. Now, she and her mysterious teacher must embark on a treacherous, uncertain journey through a time and place where the forces of darkness wield an otherworldly terror.

The first book in a projected quartet, Alison Croggon’s epic about Maerad and her remarkable yet dangerous gift is a beautiful, unforgettable tale. Presented as a new translation of an ancient text, The Naming evokes the rich and complex landscape of Annar, a legendary world just waiting to be discovered.

A Book Sense Children's Pick
A Kirkus Reviews “Best Fantasy Book” Selection

$17.99 hardcover
ISBN: 0-7636-2639-2 / 978-0-7636-2639-6
528 pages ~ Ages 12 and up
$8.99 paperback
ISBN: 0-7636-3162-0 / 978-0-7636-3162-8


 About Candlewick Press

 The Naming